April 2015

To everything there is a season (turn, turn, turn). April not only brings the return of baseball, dandelions in the yard, and a steady diet of annual meetings and conferences – it’s also the time of year when we announce our newly elected members to the CSE Board of Directors. On behalf of the Board and the CSE Nominating Committee, I am pleased to announce the election of the following individuals.

Sarah Tegen, Vice President

Michael Fitzgerald, Secretary

Christine Casey, Director

I never cease to be amazed by the talented and dedicated people who step up year after year to lead this great organization. We have a deep bench and clearly CSE will be in good hands. Congratulations to all! Thank you to everyone who was nominated and to CSE members for casting your votes. I’d also like to recognize out-going Director Mike Friedman for his service over the past two years.

Committee Spotlight: Membership

With a mandate to recruit, retain and engage new CSE Members, the Membership Committee tasks include the following: CSE Scholarship Program, New Member/First-Time Attendee Reception at the Annual Meeting, proposing ways for Members to keep engaged in CSE activities, analyze membership classifications and activities, and continue outreach to recruit new members. All these activities are designed to engage the membership, and to build and maintain an international community of editorial and publishing professionals who are dedicated to the communication of scientific information.These different programs happen because of a great group of volunteers (listed below). Without them, none of these activities would be possible.Since the committee touches so many different parts of CSE, it is a great place to volunteer because you can quickly learn about CSE’s various programs and volunteers. Please contact CSE if you are interested in volunteering or attend the Membership Committee meeting at the Annual Meeting on May 17.

Lindsey Buscher Anna Jester
Tim Cross Shari Leventhal
Detra Davis Kimberly Rosenfield
Michael Friedman Erin Russell
Ken Heideman Mary Beth Schaeffer
Merete Holterman

Update: Demographics of Scholarly Publishing and Communications Professionals – Industry Survey

With the support of Digital Science and Professor Albert Greco of Fordham University, a number of professional societies, including the Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP), the Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP), the International Association of Scientific, Technical, and Medical Publishers (STM), and the Council of Science Editors (CSE) joined forces in December 2014 in an agreement to distribute a survey on the demographics and education of scholarly publishing and communication professionals.

The purpose of this brief survey was to collect basic, anonymous data about gender, ethnicity, age, and education level among individuals in scholarly publishing and communications, to further public understanding of our profession. The survey produced over 800 responses from scholarly publishing professionals.

Amy Brand, of Digital Science, reports that the data have now been compiled and analyzed. The full results of the survey will be released later month and a presentation is planned at the start of the SSP annual meeting. Among the results that will be highlighted: the percentage of individuals with doctorate degrees in our profession is roughly eight times higher than that of individuals in the wider college-educated US population. Comparative information about the gender and ethnicity make-up of our profession will also be released.

2015 CSE Annual Meeting Hotel Update

The response to this year’s meeting has been phenomenal! Registration is on track to surpass our attendance record set at last year’s meeting. This did pose an issue with our meeting hotel, the Loews Philadelphia, as our room block is sold out. We are currently finalizing arrangements with the Philadelphia Airport Marriott Hotel, and we will have information out as soon as it is available. As this property is outside of the downtown area, the room rate has been negotiated to $149, and they offer complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport.

More information coming soon!

Welcome the Newest Members of CSE!

James Akin Soo Young Kim
Jennifer-Lynn Archuleta Elissa Krieg
Josiah Armour Sara Lee
Morgan Baker Xue Lin
John Bell Ann Michael
Steve Berman Amy Ninetto
Christine Browne Kimberly Peer
Leslie Cannon Kathleen Pieper
Hye-Min Cho Laura Santamaria
Assam El-Osta Aik Saw
Megan Foley Vani Shanker
Sheila Gafvert Stephanie St. John
Cristy Gelling Emma Stockton
Barbara Goldman Tara Strome
Rachel Grabenhofer Laura Sutherland
Shirley Groer Roufa Therrien
Richard Henderson Andrea Wagner
Kathleen Horgan Rachel Walther
Jong Kyu Hu Anthony White
Barbara Jovaisas Corrie Williams-Klamborowski
Hyungsun Kim Randi Zung
Kihong Kim

headshot-crossBest to all,
signature-crossTim Cross, CSE President