April 2016

Welcome to Digital Networking!

One of the reasons you joined CSE is to grow your network and use it to gain knowledge and make contacts. While the Annual Meeting is an absolutely fabulous place to do some serious face-to-face networking, today I want to talk about digital networking.

Not all of us can attend the Annual Meeting every year and even those who do really want to network more than two out of 365 days in a year. Over the last few years, CSE has really developed some digital networking tools to keep you connected year round.

The obvious first step is social media. CSE has an active Facebook and Twitter presence that shares not only CSE related news but also industry news, articles of interest, and news about CSE members. The membership committee is now posting a weekly question on the Facebook page as a way to inform, engage, and collect survey type information from our community. Stop by Facebook to see their question of the week.

The CSE LinkedIn page is another hot spot with discussion forums and news about meeting and webinar opportunities.

The CSE email listserv has proven to be a very useful tool. Members are always asking questions ranging from ethics advice needed to policy questions to plain old advice being sought. I have “met” many new contacts via the listserv.

CSE is proud to announce another great online networking tool. In collaboration with our publisher, the University of Chicago Press, CSE has just launched a Style Guide Forum  to address ongoing issues, such as copyediting in SSF8 style, SSF citations and references, tables and figures, publication policies, professional development, and other topics.

SSF8 subscribers can post a question or enter a dialogue thread online. When you access the site, think about the Forum.

I hope that you have engaged with fellow members online and make a point to expand your digital network with CSE.

Before I sign off here, I want to thank each and every CSE member, board member, and particularly the committee chairs and members for all the work you do. I also want to thank the CSE Staff including Tim Bennett, Executive Director; Andrew VanWasshnova, Account Manager; Paula DeViney, Membership Services Coordinator; and David Stumph, Management Liaison, for keeping us on track and advising us on best management practices.

This is my last President’s Letter and I want you to know that it has truly been an honor serving this organization.

See you soon…online!

Committee Spotlight: Webinar Subcommittee

Webinars are one way that CSE keeps members in the know. As interest for CSE resources expands internationally, the webinars (available live and recorded) fit the bill. Brittany White chairs the subcommittee with help from members Daniel Nadolny, Angela Cochran, Jennifer Deyton, and Joanna Gillette. The purpose of the subcommittee is to establish an annual calendar of webinars, plan webinar content and delivery, and promote webinar attendance. If you have a great idea for a webinar or want to help organize future webinars, let us know!

Committee Spotlight: Nominating Committee

Each year, the immediate past-president of CSE has the important task of building a slate of the future leaders of the organization. The 2016 nominating chair, Tim Cross, would like to thank all the members who voted in the recent CSE elections. We had a strong slate with difficult choices to make – a testament to the depth and bench strength we have in this organization. And thanks also to everyone who accepted nomination and ran for office. Your dedication and willingness to step up for CSE is greatly appreciated.

Important Deadlines for the Annual Meeting Happening Friday!

The early bird deadline to save up to $60 on your registration is this Friday, April 22! Be sure to register by Friday in order to receive this lowered rate. To review the full listing of events and to register, click here.

Both hotels, the Grand Hyatt Denver and the Marriott City Center Denver, will also be releasing our room blocks and accompanying group rates this Friday, April 22. Be sure to reserve your room by Friday, otherwise you will be responsible for any prevailing rates the hotels offer.

Register today!

Welcome the Newest Members of CSE!

Francis Afum Ansah Ashley Ketelhut
Lisa Al-Amoodi Evan Kharasch
Simone Appenzeller Mary Kohut
Rahul Arora Piotr Krzyzaniak
Marcos Assis Joshua Lancette
Leah Bassity Jean-Pierre Lebeau
Lindsey Brounstein Monica Leigh
Judy Busnarda Sarah McCormack
Brianna Caszatt Dan Moran
Catherine Clifton Emily Mueller
Sylvia Cuadrado Jeremy Nielsen
Leslie Demir Tat Okada
Anne Gering Elizabeth Ralls
Mark Graczynski Oedipa Rice
Travis Griffin Christina Robinson
David Harrell Rachel Spassiani
Nadia Horen Deborah Stein
Mark Johnson Scott Wessels
Rebecca Kelly Sanuel Wilder

headshot-cochranBest to all,signature-cochranAngela Cochran, CSE President