April 2018

Dear CSE Colleagues,

I hope spring is blooming wherever you are! For us on the Atlantic seaboard, it seems like winter just wants to keep hanging around. But the lengthening days and the return of the migratory birds to my backyard lets me know that Spring is here. And with Spring means that my term as CSE president is coming to a close. It’s been a pleasure to serve you for the past year. So many people have helped make this year great, and I need to offer my public thanks for their efforts:

  • Tim Bennett, our Executive Director, Andrew Van Wasshnova, our Account Manager, and Paula DeViney, our Membership Services Coordinator, from Kellen Company make each day productive and rewarding. You’ll never come across a more dedicated group of staff;
  • Tony Alves, Patty Baskin, Mary Billingsley, Christine Casey, Dana Compton, Jennifer Deyton, Carissa Gilman, Anna Jester, and Mary Beth Schaeffer have been a thoughtful and productive Board of Directors
  • Helen Atkins, Angela Cochran, Tim Cross, Tracey DePellegrin, Jennifer Fleet, Emilie Gunn, Kelly Hadsell, Tammy Hanna, Ken Heideman, Merete Holtermann, Sonja Krane, Beverly Lindeen, Kate Luckey, Sheehan Misko, Alison O’Connell, Peggy Perkins, Jonathan Schultz, Emma Shumeyko, Mary Warner, Julie Vo, and Brittany White have all dedicated their time to chairing committees or task forces.  They are the backbone of our organization

I am indebted to all of your service.

As we think about the future of CSE, we recall our roots in the editing community. The Board of Directors has agreed that we should have a taskforce to explore the programming we offer to appeal to editors in chief and associate editors. Furthermore, we also want to understand the demographics of this group of constituents and determine what we’d need to offer to ensure their continued and augmented participation. If you’re interested in participating in this task force, please do let me know!

Further to our commitment to be an authoritative source of information, I’m pleased to let you know that changes are coming soon to our Publication Ethics White Paper on Publication Ethics! The CSE Editorial Policy Committee is pleased to announce that several helpful additions to the White Paper have been approved and should be released in advance of next month’s Annual Meeting. This update includes information and guidance on preprint servers, publication oversight committees, and more. You can expect quarterly updates to the White Paper in order to keep you better informed regarding current trends and best practices in scholarly publishing.

Finally, I can’t wait to see so many of you in New Orleans in just a few weeks! We have surpassed 400 registrants for the meeting because of a great program.  You still have time to register and partake in a great meeting, seeing many long-time colleagues and making new acquaintances.

I’m honored to have served as your president for the last year and know the organization is in great hands for the future. Thank you and best wishes for each of your continued success!

Science Editor Call for Submissions

Science Editor is seeking submissions of articles on current topics or initiatives of interest in journal publishing. For more information, including length requirements and deadlines, visit the Call for Submissions on the Science Editor site.

Welcome the Newest Members of CSE!

Chris Aiello Adrian Koesters
Rebecca Allendorf Kimberly Koporc
Stanley Aruyaru Mazyanga Liwewe
Sarah Atzen Julius Massaga
Polina Bahmetenko David Mbulumi
Deb Baldwin Jerryll Moreno
Adrianna Barbat Ezilan Mullayappan
Dax Blemberg Benjamin Njihia
Steve Brown Jesus Orozco
Ivone Cabral Kwame Owusu
Martha Calderaro Eric Pesanelli
Moussa Camara Sharon Quimby
Jose Castro Morgan Richardson
Marielle Cavrois Bahaty Riogi
Joanne Chin Erin Roberts
Lyndsee Cordes Marcelo Rodrigues
Laura Cruz Michele Springer
Amanda Eastin-Allen Beth Staehle
Christopher Filiatreau Rachelle Stover
Raymond Hamoonga Michiel Klein Swormink
Kristen Hauck Kelsy Taylor
Fanglian He Jane Voros
Kateryna Huryna J. Todd Weber
Allison Janocha Marian Weidner
Ermel Johnson Jennifer Wilkes
Kristie Keeney Rachel Winokur
Lauren Kmec Sara Young
Robert Koepke

headshot-tegenBest to all,signature-tegenSarah Tegen, PhD, CSE President