April 2019

Dear CSE Colleagues,

Anna Jester, CSE President

Thank you very much for entrusting me with the opportunity to serve as CSE President. There have been moments that surprised me, even a few that lifted my left brow for more than a minute, but my time over the last three years serving as your Vice President, President-Elect, and President has been overwhelmingly positive. I expect the same next year in my role as immediate Past President. I am honored to pass the gavel at the 2019 Annual Meeting in Columbus, OH, to Dana Compton. While I may not be able to get the lyrics to “One Last Time” from Hamilton out of my head while writing my last CSE President’s Letter, the CSE Board of Directors is structured so that each year we gladly welcome new colleagues and rotate others off the board. This type of continuity means the incoming Board Members and Vice President are seamlessly transitioning and still have access to resources from previous years. I highly recommend running for office in this amazing group of professionals. If you are tempted but hesitant, please feel free to ask me questions about what is involved. You should definitely be involved.

The list of folks that has helped make this year memorable is lengthy, but I offer continuous thanks to:

  • Tim Bennett, our Executive Director, and Andrew Van Wasshnova, our Account Manager. The support they provide for our membership database, annual meeting, committee calls, and board meetings, just to name a few of their responsibilities, help CSE run smoothly.
  • Sarah Tegen, Dana Compton, Carissa Gilman, Mary Billingsley, Tony Alves, Glenn Landis, Amy McPherson, Jennifer Deyton, and Mary Beth Schaeffer have ensured the Board of Directors meetings addressed issues from varied points of view and fearlessly spoke their minds.
  • Shari Leventhal, Kelly Hadsell, Amanda Ferguson, Jasmine Wallace, Carolyn deCourt, Emma Shumeyko, Emilie Gunn, Tammy Hanna, Merete Holtermann, Jennifer Fleet, Sonja Krane, Alison O’Connell, Peggy Perkins, Chris Casey, Tim Cross, Ken Heideman, Beverly Lindeen, Jonathan Schultz, Julie Vo, Brittany White, Patty Baskin, and Mary Warner have all dedicated their time to chairing committees. They are amazing. Please thank the CSE Committee Chairs, who ensure CSE’s goals are met and often exceeded, when you see them. Seems likely they would not mind emailed thanks if you prefer.
  • Marissa Ayotte, who kindly copyedited my President’s Letters (before they went out to an organization of Editors).

Have you been looking for a mentor? Are you interested in being mentored? Learn about the CSE Mentorship Program at the CSE Annual Meeting during breakfast on May 6th. If you would love a mentor but are not able to meet for breakfast that morning, additional information is available all day, every day, here.

I look forward to seeing so many of you in a few weeks in Columbus, OH! The 2019 CSE Annual Meeting theme is The Spirit of Scientific Publishing: Inclusion, Identity, Technology & Beyond and I’ll be using the hashtag #CSE2019. Please feel free to join me!

As always, the latest CSE comings and goings are available via social media channels (FacebookTwitter, and LinkedIn) and our listserv (csel@lists.lists.resourcenter.net).

The board values input from CSE members. If you have a question, suggestion, or a comment, please feel free to contact us.

One last time,

Anna Jester, CSE President

Join the Membership Committee!

Joining a committee is a great way to learn more about CSE and be a part of the CSE community. The CSE Membership Committee is responsible for many interesting initiatives and is now looking for more members.

Our projects include member outreach, maintaining a student resource website, and surveying members. We are also responsible for reviewing scholarship applications and awarding three deserving applicants scholarships to attend the Annual Meeting. Further, we host the New Member/First Time Attendee Reception at the Annual Meeting each year, and we hope to see you there!

It is truly rewarding work. If you are interested in joining the committee or learning more about what we do, please contact one of the Co-Chairs, Tammy Hanna or Merete Holtermann. Our Committee meets once per month on the first Tuesday at 3pm ET.

Welcome to the Newest Members of CSE!

Rob Bernstein
Carolyn Kyle
Joao Boaventura
David Busboom
Lori Carlin
Jennifer Chase
David Crotty
Christine Diedrich
Jacqueline Domire
Carol Ford
Laura Gerik
Taylor Gould
Carlee Green
Amanda Hand
Kristin Hubing
Miguel Huerta-Diaz
Marjorie Jean-Baptiste
J. Julia
Nicholas Kerna
Lauren Lindenfelser
John Long
Lindsay MacMurray
Lisabeth Maxwell
Judy Mikhail
Madeline Patton
Brian Peppers
Leah Poffenberger
Laura Ricci
Jamie Scott
Gunn Marit Seberg
Eric Seger
Siri Lunde Stromme
Bryan Tutt
Alaina Wangsgaard
Alana Warnke
Susan Willner


CSE Members Celebrating Anniversaries!

Each month, CSE will recognize its members who are celebrating a milestone anniversary. We are grateful for your continued involvement in our Council!

Merete Holtermann – 5 Years of Membership
Sergio Lozano – 5 Years of Membership
Sacha Noukhovitch – 5 Years of Membership
Michelle Yeoman – 5 Years of Membership
Leahanne Sarlo – 5 Years of Membership
Cynthia Hastings – 10 Years of Membership
Michael Kavic – 10 Years of Membership