April 2020

Dear CSE Colleagues,

Dana Compton, CSE President

It’s hard to believe this is the last President’s letter I’ll be writing. The past three years that I’ve served as Vice President, President-Elect, and President, have been rewarding, challenging, and—especially recently!—full of the unexpected. It’s been an honor serving CSE, and I thank you all for entrusting me with leadership of an organization that has meant so much to me professionally over the years.

One of the CSE President’s great privileges is passing the gavel to the President-Elect during the Annual Business Meeting. I couldn’t be more honored to “hand off,” at least virtually, to Carissa Gilman next Monday. Carissa has served many important roles for CSE, from Education Committee chair to Short Course Faculty to Treasurer-Elect and Treasurer. Carissa and I co-chaired the Program Committee for the 2016 CSE Meeting in Denver, an experience that remains an unquestionable highlight of my involvement with CSE. I count myself as exceptionally lucky to have had Carissa alongside me as President-Elect over the past year. Thank you, Carissa, for your unfailing pragmatism, humor, and camaraderie. CSE will be in excellent hands under your leadership.

I am grateful for the contributions of so many of our members and volunteers for making this year a success, despite undeniable challenges. I would like to extend my sincerest thanks to:

  • Tim Bennett, Executive Director, and Andrew Van Wasshnova, Associate Director: The number of emails I have sent you over the past year is unforgivable. Thank you for the tireless support you provide to keep CSE’s programs and operations running smoothly.
  • The entire CSE Board of Directors: Anna Jester, Carissa Gilman, Mary Billingsley, Tony Alves, Glenn Landis, Helen Atkins, Julie Vo, Amy McPherson, and Jennifer Deyton have all lent their time and leadership to shape CSE’s mission. The varied perspectives and experiences they have brought to the Board truly strengthen our organization.
  • All of our committee chairs: Sonja Krane, Kelly Hadsell, Shari Leventhal, Andrea Kunz, Nancy Devaux, Brittany Swett, Christina Nelson, Lisa Kisner, Tammy Hanna, Carolyn DeCourt, Jasmine Wallace, Emma Shumeyko, Brit Stamey, Emilie Gunn, Peter Olson, Leslie Niestadt, Patty Baskin, Mary Warner, Amanda Ferguson, Mike Fitzgerald, Jonathan Schultz, and Beverly Lindeen have led our amazing committees and subcommittees. I truly believe that CSE volunteers are the best volunteers—their dedication is central to all our programs and member benefits.
Thank you all!

Before I move into the role of immediate Past President, I’m looking forward to #CSE2020 Virtual next week. We’ll kick off with the Annual Business Meeting at 11:30am ET on Monday, May 4, including the installation of the 2020-2021 CSE Board. If you haven’t yet registered, there is still time. Please be sure to join the breaks and happy hours in addition to the formal sessions to network with your colleagues—I hope to have the pleasure of seeing many of you then! And if you’re interested in getting involved with CSE’s committees or leadership, this is a great time to make connections and learn more.

If you can’t join us live, follow along using the hashtag #CSE2020 and keep an eye out for opportunities to purchase session recordings to listen at your leisure after the meeting. You’ll also be able to join the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony, which is new this year. See below for more information on how to join virtually.

If you have any immediate questions or concerns that you’d like to share with the CSE leadership, please contact us at cse@councilscienceeditors.org. In the meantime, I wish you all good health.

Join CSE for the 2020 Annual Business Meeting and Awards & Honors Ceremony

With moving to a virtual format for the Annual Meeting this year, this has allowed us to open up both our Annual Business Meeting and Awards & Honors Ceremony to all members, not just those who could attend in-person. We hope you will add these to your calendars!

CSE Annual Business Meeting
Monday, May 4 | 11:30-12:00 PM EST
Zoom Access Link

CSE Awards & Honors Ceremony
Tuesday, May 5 | 11:30-12:00 PM EST
Zoom Access Link

Welcome to the Newest Members of CSE!

Patricia Banks
Victoria Beaulac
Celia Charron
Phoebe Chi
Bédard Francis
Abril Franco-Reyes
Chanel George
Meghit Boumediene Khaled
Doug Meigs
Margaret Moerchen
Chrystal Redding
Dorothy Ritter
Carolyn Roper
Josephine Sciortino
Maria Siciliano
Martin Theuri
Liu Tianhao

CSE Members Celebrating Anniversaries!

Each month, CSE will recognize its members celebrating a milestone anniversary. We are grateful for your continued involvement in our Council!

5 Years of Membership
Josiah Armour
John Bell
Ann Michael
Suzanne Pratt
Andrea Rahkola

10 Years of Membership
Helen Atkins

15 Years of Membership
Audra Cox
Tracy Frey