July 2018

Dear CSE Colleagues,

I hope your July is going well and has included a few moments of relaxation. Here in the Washington, DC area we’ve had sizzling temperatures and frequent reminders that conserving energy during the warmest times of the day is always appreciated. I’ve attended many a committee meeting during those hours of the day and while sitting in a room with lowered lights and blinds pulled is not required during committee conference calls, CSE includes a diverse set of committees and participating is the best way to be certain items recapped in this letter include topics that matter to you. CSE can always be followed, even while you are not in shady areas or in air conditioned rooms, via multiple social media channels (Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn) and our listserv (csel@lists.resourcenter.net).

The incoming Program Co-Chairs, Mary Billingsley and Shari Leventhal, are thrilled to announce the theme for the CSE 2019 Annual Meeting is The Spirit of Scientific Publishing: Inclusion, Identity, Technology & Beyond. A program focusing on these topics, including an increasing number of sessions covering production themes, will be held May 4-7, 2019, at the Hyatt Regency Columbus in Columbus, OH. If you are interested in joining the Program Committee, moderating a session, or just have ideas regarding topics and speakers, please contact Andrew Van Wasshnova via email.

The CSE Board of Directors delightedly announced the results of the Science Editor EiC Search Task Force and Jonathan Schultz assumed the role of Editor-in-Chief of Science Editor on July 1, 2018. As noted in the announcement email, access to Science Editor is one of the valuable benefits available to CSE members. Jonathan’s experience as Science Editor Deputy Editor and his work as Director of Journal Operations at the American Heart Association inform his understanding of the journal, and the audience, in this essential role. Please congratulate Jonathan and feel free to contact him directly with suggested topics.

Additional Items of Note:

  • The CSE Book Club included 107 fellow readers as of July 5. Ready to join? Click here.
  • The 2019 CSE Annual Meeting in Columbus, OH kicks off as the Center of Science and Industry (COSI) Science Festival, a “Hands-On Science Carnival on the Peninsula,” held May 1-4, 2019, winds down. More information can be found here.
  • Look for the CSE booth at the 2018 ISMTE North American Conference this August in Baltimore, MD.

I value input from CSE members. If you have a question, suggestion, or a comment, please feel free to contact me.

Science Editor Call for Submissions

As the new Editor-in-Chief of Science Editor, Jonathan Schultz, begins his work on the journal, expect to see regular updates and changes introduced to the Science Editor site, starting with a revamped and expanded For Authors section.

Science Editor is seeking submissions of articles on current topics or initiatives of interest in journal publishing. For more information, including length requirements and deadlines, visit the Call for Submissions on the Science Editor site.

Have an idea of something you’d like to see in Science Editor? The editors are always interested in suggestions for submissions and new topics or areas of interest, which can be emailed to scienceeditor@councilscienceeditors.org.

Join the CSE Membership Committee!

The 2017-2018 Membership Committee had a record year for member numbers but that doesn’t mean we couldn’t use more help! If you think you have skills or network connections that could benefit CSE and our membership efforts, please consider volunteering. Any commitment of time and assistance is welcome. If you are interested in getting involved in the Membership  Committee, please contact Tammy Hanna or Merete Holtermann.

Welcome the Newest Members of CSE!

Aaron Fultz Christine Tilles
April Hamm Shannon Williams
Jennifer Robertson

CSE Members Celebrating Anniversaries!

Each month, CSE will recognize its members who are celebrating a milestone anniversary. We are grateful for your continued involvement in our Council!

  • Diana Burke – 5 Years of Membership
  • Kathryn Nelson Emily – 15 Years of Membership

headshot-tegenBest to all,signature-tegenAnna Jester, CSE President