March 2021

Dear CSE Colleagues,

Carissa Gilman, CSE President

Earlier today I went to a mass vaccination site to get my first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine. While I was ‎waiting in line for my number to be called, I kept thinking back to my first letter to you as CSE president, ‎when I wrote, “I remain optimistic about the power of science to guide us through these most troubled ‎times.” More than anything, I feel profoundly grateful to be the recipient of the product of the rapid and ‎urgent science that went into developing an approved vaccine. At the same time, I recognize that not ‎everyone benefits equally from this science, as the vaccine remains out of reach for most of the world’s ‎population. We are a global community, and we are not safe unless all of us are safe. Thinking back to ‎another letter, I said, “Science is what will bring an end to the continuing ravages of this pandemic.” While ‎that remains true, we have seen the devastating effects wrought when science is hamstrung by ‎government apathy and flawed policy. That is why I ask myself what we can do as scholarly publishing ‎professionals to help address the issue of distribution inequality.‎

This is one question I hope to pose to our keynote and plenary speakers for this year’s annual meeting, to ‎be held virtually May 3-5, 2021. Dr. Michael Osterholm and Jessica Malaty Rivera, both infectious disease ‎experts, will speak to the role our scholarly community can play in supporting an improved crisis response ‎through disseminating science, debunking misinformation, and rebuilding trust among communities. In ‎addition to these general sessions, this year’s program committee, led by co-chairs Emma Shumeyko and ‎Brittany Swett, have organized 24 outstanding concurrent sessions as well as roundtables, lunch and ‎learns, and social events. Be sure to register by April 9, 2021, to lock in your early bird rate.‎

In addition to the annual meeting program, we will be offering 3 short courses—the April 30th Advanced ‎Short Course on Publication Management; May 10th Short Course on Publication Management; and brand ‎new this year, the May 6th Short Course on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Thank you to our short course ‎director Brit Stamey for organizing these key educational offerings.‎

This month the CSE Membership Committee has been hard at work reminding members to renew their ‎membership—don’t forget that the end of the membership grace period is today! We are also introducing ‎a referral campaign so that existing members can earn a free webinar in 2021 by introducing a colleague or ‎friend to CSE. In addition, the Membership Committee is seeking members who are willing to provide ‎testimonials about their experiences with CSE for new member recruitment on social media and the CSE ‎website. If you are willing to provide a testimonial, please submit here or give us a shout. Finally, we are ‎pleased to welcome another new member to the committee: Nicole Camasso of the American Chemical ‎Society. ‎

If you are looking for another way to get involved with CSE, the Certificate Program, led by subcommittee ‎chair Morgan Sorenson, needs reviewers for projects from the program participants. This involves ‎reviewing incoming project proposals from participants and offering advice or guidance if needed. This is a ‎low time commitment for someone who is looking to volunteer for CSE but doesn’t have a lot of time to ‎spare. ‎

Finally, did you know Science Editor is now on Instagram? As an amateur photographer, Instagram is my ‎favorite social media platform, so I’m particularly excited about this new way to engage with CSE. You can ‎check out the feed here. ‎

The May annual meeting will be here before we know it, and I do hope you will make the time to join us. I ‎look forward to seeing you all soon.‎

Welcome to the Newest Members of CSE!

Charlotte Bailey
Stephanie Boyter
Brittany Butler
James Butler
Kimberly Carter-Fenk
Janaynne Carvalho do Amaral
Glenda Cohen
Elizabeth Craanen
Simona Fernandes
Kamaria Fyffe
Amy Goldenberg
Sarah Hammond
Erik Hofmeister
Paige Horvath
Hui Hu
Andrew Hunt
Kevin Jewett
Jacob Kannadan
Joel Kaufman
Mark Kohlhase
Susan Malloy
Joyna Michyari
Wyatt Miller
Natasha Morales Drissi
Natalie Ngo
Hernan Nina-Hanco
Sharvari Patil
Akhila Pavithran
Katie Rogers
Melanie Saxton
Kesiah Stoker
Kimberlyn Stuart
Vrushali Surve
Rachel Taylor
Grace Taylor
Erin Valentine
Sharon Zinner

CSE Members Celebrating Anniversaries!

Each month, CSE will recognize its members celebrating a milestone anniversary. We are grateful for your continued involvement in our Council!

10 Years of Membership
Tony Alves
Michael Fitzgerald
Kelly Hadsell
Lisa Kisner
Erin McMullan