2022 CSE Scholarship Recipients

The Council of Science Editors (CSE) Membership Committee received 35 applications for the 2022 Scholarship Program. The outstanding quality of these submissions made for a difficult decision for the Committee. After careful review and consideration, three deserving individuals have been selected, all of whom are excited and passionate about increasing their knowledge and expertise in the scientific editing field.

Charlene Chuquillanqui, Program Specialist, Publications, American Geophysical Union 

Charlene Chuquillanqui

Charlene Chuquillanqui graduated from the University of Maryland, College Park with a bachelor’s degree in English, and, in 2021, she received a master’s degree in publishing from George Washington University. In her current role as a Program Specialist at the American Geophysical Union, she handles peer review operations for two journals and provides support to authors, reviewers, and editors. Previously, she was an intern at the American Horticultural Society and the American Society for Clinical Oncology.

Sarah Frances Gordon

Sarah Frances Gordon, Editorial Manager, Universidad Iberoamericana

Sarah Frances Gordon is the editorial manager of the journal, Psicología Iberoamericana at the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City. She has a doctorate in psychology from the University of Cape Town and was a postdoctoral researcher in political science in South Africa. She has experience working in research, education, development, and trauma services. She is currently based in Mexico and speaks both English and Spanish.

Christine Watt

Christine Watt, Editorial Administrator, American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine

Christine Watt graduated summa cum laude from High Point University ‘20 with a BA in English literature. While at school, she was active as a writer and editor for multiple creative and academic student publications. She is now an editorial administrator at the American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine, where she oversees the peer-review process for its journals, including Sports Health and the Video Journal of Sports Medicine. She is thrilled to continue her professional development with CSE.

The Membership Committee would also like to recognize four runners-up for their excellent applications:

  • Sofia Garakyaraghi
  • Amy Ritchie Johnson
  • Kim Stuart
  • Hannah Vinchur

Each runner-up received either a complimentary Worldwide Flex level membership OR a 50% discount off the Worldwide Member level membership.